Examined
Examined Podcast
Examining Room Jawn #2 - Seasonal Allergies
0:00
-10:45

Paid episode

The full episode is only available to paid subscribers of Examined

Examining Room Jawn #2 - Seasonal Allergies

Misconceptions, best treatments, and common regimens that can be harmful or ineffective.
19

Yesterday I was approached by a local TV news station to give an interview as a doctor treating seasonal allergies. I declined because I was seeing patients, and the advance notice was like 1 hour before air time! But I’m grateful and flattered to have been approached, and it inspired me to do this morning’s podcast on seasonal allergies. Here I talk like I would to a person in the office, but with expanded ideas and overlooked nuances. I have allergies, so I come at this from a patient and doctor’s perspective. For example, did you know that adding Zyrtec to a nasal spray like Flonase doesn’t provide additional benefit? That benzalkonium chloride in most nasal sprays mows down your natural mucociliary system? That antihistamines are associated with a lot of adverse effects including cognitive problems? That firstborns entering the world in the spring have a higher risk of developing allergies?

Listen to this episode with a 7-day free trial

Subscribe to Examined to listen to this post and get 7 days of free access to the full post archives.

Examined
Examined Podcast
Vital and overlooked ideas your family doctor might share with you - if only we had more time. This podcast goes along with my written articles on Substack, and provides expanded commentary. You might even hear some drumming. Low tech production. High quality content.